The next Plane of Knowledge

I have been told there are four planes of knowledge. The first plane of knowledge is you don’t know what you don’t know. Some would refer to this first plane as a state of bliss. King Solomon referred to ignorance as bliss. Here there is no responsibility, no lamenting over misdeeds either done to you or by you. A peace felt by a child upon entering the world. Loved, cared for and protected.

The second plane of knowledge is you don’t know what you know. Here one learns about things which they had no previous knowledge. Crawling, walking, and what tastes good. Then as the synapsis in the brain connect, talking and reasoning start. While the person is still learning, they are still unaware of what they know.

The third plane of knowledge is you know what you don’t know. Here the person realizes there is more to life than what they have experienced to date. The mind is now seeking knowledge, to learn more of the world and their surroundings. Questions swirl in the mind. What is life? Why am I here? Why hasn’t someone fixed this problem before? This is the first stage on innovation and ingenuity. Here we discovered the wheel, automobiles, flight, and space travel.

The fourth and final plane of knowledge is you know what you know. This plane by many is considered the highest level of knowledge. On this plane many feel you have reached the pinnacle of your chosen profession. But to me this plane is one of stagnant growth. In 1899 Charles H. Duell the commissioner of the U.S. patent office was attributed with a famous utterance, “Everything that can be invented has been invented.” He is not alone. There are those who will say, there is no GOD, ghosts, spirits and demons are baseless, but the one I like the best are those who say In this immense universe we are the only ones in it.

We need to remain inquisitive and continue our search for more knowledge.

The moral of the Story: When your green, you’re growing. When your ripe, you start to rot. Keep growing.

Published by M.Short

As a 19 year old CW2 helicopter combat pilot, M. Short served as an aircraft commander being awarded the Distinguished Flying Cross, Bronze Star and eleven Combat Air Medals while serving the U.S. Army in the Vietnam war. His passion for Science Fiction and his experiences in combat as a pilot gave him his inspiration for the series -A Saga of Dogs of War. A Mercenaries Story. His series starts in 2235 after the Earth starts to heal from a cataclysmic event. The series follows the lives and experiences of one mercenary clan as they reclaim the Earth for their corporate sponsor, XTECH.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: